London, 13 October 2020:  The winners of the 17th annual CPhI Pharma Awards, Powered by Informa Pharma Intelligence, were announced at its first-ever virtual ceremony on 13 October 2020. Since 2003, the CPhI Pharma Awards have recognised outstanding achievement in the pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical industry, and this year’s digital event was no exception. Each category at the prestigious Awards ceremony celebrated the individuals, teams, and organizations committed to driving the industry forward. 

This year’s Awards featured fourteen categories, including – fittingly – the newly added Excellence in Pharma: Innovation in Response to COVID-19 category.

Tara Dougal, Head of Content at Informa commented: “This year has been a truly ground-breaking year for innovation in the pharmaceutical industry as demonstrated by the quality of the entries for the CPhI Pharma Awards covering all parts of the pharmaceutical supply chain. The judges have tirelessly worked to ensure that all award submissions and their merits were thoroughly evaluated, and I’d like to thank them for all their efforts.” 

The Awards were judged by an esteemed panel of industry experts from around the world, each chosen for their knowledge, objectivity and credibility.

Here is the complete list of winners for the 2020 CPhI Pharma Awards:




Excellence in Pharma: Innovation in Response to COVID-19

Beximco Pharmaceuticals

Highly Commended – Ridgeback Biotherapeutics, MK-4482 – in collaboration with Merck

Excellence in Pharma: API Development

Micropore Technologies, Membrane Crystallisation

Excellence in Pharma: Finished Formulation

Lonza Capsugel, Capsugel® DBcaps®

Highly Commended  – Uriach Italy – Colpofix TE®

Excellence in Pharma: Manufacturing Technology and Equipment


Excellence in Pharma: Analysis, Testing, and Quality Control

Merck, Blazar™ platform

Excellence in Pharma: Packaging

SCHOTT Pharmaceutical Systems, SCHOTT Smart Containers

Excellence in Pharma: Drug Delivery Devices

Nemera, Safe’n’Spray

Highly Commended – Ypsomed, SmartPilot™ for YpsoMate®


Excellence in Pharma: Digital Innovation

Novartis Pharma Schweiz, The Advanced Myelofibrosis Risk Scoring Tool

Excellence in Pharma: Supply Chain, Logistics, and Distribution

Controlant, Cold Chain as a Service (ChaaS)®

Excellence in Pharma: Contract Services and Outsourcing

Arcinova, Flowinova

Excellence in Pharma: Sustainability

Dr. Reddy's Laboratories

Excellence in Pharma: Regulatory Procedures and Compliance

Affygility Solutions, OEL Fastrac platform

Excellence in Pharma: CEO of the Year

Bobby Sheng. CEO, Bora Pharmaceuticals


For more coverage of the 2020 CPhI Pharma Awards, please visit: (


About the CPhI Pharma Awards

Since 2003, the CPhI Awards have been committed to recognising excellence in pharma. Hundreds of attendees from around the world, including prominent industry figures from the pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical industry, come together for this prestigious event.