va-Q-tec, a pioneer in the field of thermal insulation technology, was selected as a German finalist for the European Business Awards in the category ‘Innovation’. The Würzburg-based company received the honorary status of holder of the Ruban d’Honneur at the award ceremony in Milan on 17 June, marking the tenth anniversary of the awards. More than 32,000 companies from 33 countries participated in this year’s competition. In a national elimination round a jury had already selected va-Q-tec as one of the national champions for Germany in the ‘Innovation’ category. The top 10 were subsequently chosen among all the European champions in this category to represent their country in the final. va-Q-tec therefore qualified for the final amongst several thousand entrants, and just nearly missed achieving an overall victory as European champion.

‘We’ve competed against the best companies for the award as European champions in the ‘Innovation’ category’, Dr Joachim Kuhn, the Chairman of the va-Q-tec AG Board, says happily: ‘we’re proud to have received this recognition of our technological leadership and the market potential of our developments.’

va-Q-tec is a worldwide technology leading supplier of super insulating materials, the so-called vacuum insulation panels (VIPs). VIPs are used wherever there is little available space but where, at the same time, supreme insulation is needed e.g. in refrigerators and freezers, buildings, hot water tanks, vehicles and thermal packaging. The company, founded in 2001, among other services also operates a fleet of rental containers and boxes through a worldwide partnership network. This offers customers an unbroken cold chain for temperature sensitive goods. More than one million shipments have already been completed worldwide without any temperature fluctuations. Pharmaceutical and biotechnical companies, as well firms from the logistics and food sectors, are amongst its customers.

About the European Business Awards

The European Business Awards were founded in 2007. They are designed to acknowledge the success of European companies and to support the development of a stronger business community in Europe. The jury consists of representatives from business, science and politics and will select the overall European winners in eleven categories in the final round.